May 22, 2013

At the heart of every Y family center, there are a select volunteers who give incredible amounts of time and energy to advance the Y’s cause.

During the Y of Central Florida’s annual meeting, we recently honored Rhoda Fisher, of the Titusville Y, and Tim Haberkamp, of the Wayne Densch Y, with the 2012 Ronnie Walker Unsung Hero Award. It recognizes volunteers of 10 years or more who truly exemplify the spirit of Y servant leadership.

The award was named for Ronnie Walker, a longtime Downtown YMCA member, who deeply believed in the Y’s ability to change lives. His legacy lives on in the actions of Fisher, a competitive tennis player who combines her love for the sport and dedication to the Y by organizing tennis socials that raise money for Y causes.

It’s also exemplified in the leadership of Tim Haberkamp, who has been a major part of the Wayne Densch Y since it was established in the 1990s.

As a Pine Hills business owner, Tim embodies the spirit of giving back and supporting his local community.  He has also has a huge heart for local children and families in need and has been a major advocate for our Outreach Ys.

In addition, we also recognized the following volunteers who were selected by their respective Ys as Family Center Volunteers of the Year. From fundraising and event planning to coaching kids and serving on boards, these Y champions consistently raise the bar and inspire others to follow their lead. We thank and honor them all:

  • Teen Achievers – Jibri Robinson
  • Aquatic Center – Randy Walters
  • Avalon Park – Craig Murray
  • Blanchard Park – Stefanie Block
  • Camp Wewa – Katie Hery Morgan
  • Cocoa – Dave McGaffic
  • Crosby – Howie & Debbie Apple
  • Downtown – Kathy Panter
  • Dr. Phillips – Paul McGarigal
  • Golden Triangle – Jerry Ransom
  • J. Douglas Williams – Jose  Velazquez
  • Lake Nona – Marshia Hale
  • Frank DeLuca YMCA – Steve Wingo
  • Osceola – Eric & Janelle Jenkins
  • Oviedo – Alice Maalouf
  • Roper – Ashley Arthur
  • South Orlando – Virginia Howell
  • Suntree – Sam Pinson
  • Tangelo Park – Autumn Bailey
  • Titusville – Gene Loyd
  • WDW Resort:  Lake Buena Vista – Virginia Rousseau
  • WDW Resort:  Sherberth – Noel Myerson
  • Wayne Densch – Charlie McCall
  • Winter Park – Marilyn Nelson